Skip to main content

WVUteach Team

The WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education was recently awarded a $100,000 grant from the Eberly Foundation to support an Eberly Master Teacher Assistant, which will allow nearly 100 additional students to enter WVUteach over the span of four years, with 12 estimated to credential and enter the classroom following graduation each year.

Co-Directors

Jeffrey Carver, Ed.D.
Jeffrey Carver, Co-Director

Associate Professor of Science Education, College of Education and Human Services
Allen Hall, Room 609E

Jeffrey.Carver@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-3841
Course Taught:
  • UTCH 420 - Project-Based Instruction

Gay Stewart, Ph.D.
Gay Stewart, Co-Director

Director, WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education
Eberly Professor of STEM Education, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences
White Hall, Room 303

gbstewart@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-5032
Course Taught:
  • BIOL/CHEM/PHYS 376 - Research Methods

Staff

Amanda Jelsema
Amanda Jelsema, Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator,  WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education
Allen Hall, Room 611


Eric Floyd
Eric Floyd

Administrative Secretary,  WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education
Allen Hall, Room 601

eric.floyd@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-9708


Master Teachers

Vanessa Licwov-Channell
Vanessa Licwov-Channell, Master Teacher

Clinical Assistant Professor,  WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education
Allen Hall, Room 611

vlicwov@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-4044

  Courses Taught: 
  • ARSC 120 - Step 1: Inquiry Approaches to Teaching
  • ARSC 220 - Step 2: Inquiry-Based Lesson Design

Nancy Spillane, Ed.D.
Nancy Spillane, Master Teacher

Clinical Associate Professor,  WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education
Allen Hall, Room 611

Nancy.Spillane@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-3391

Courses Taught: 
  • ARSC 220 - Step 2: Inquiry-Based Lesson Design

Michael Tilley
Michael Tilley, Master Teacher

Clinical InstructorWVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education 
Allen Hall, Room 611

michael.tilley@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-9459

Course Taught: 
  • UTCH 430 - Apprentice Teaching

Elaine Schwing
Elaine Schwing, Master Teacher

Clinical Assistant Professor, WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education 
Allen Hall, Room 611

elaine.schwing@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-8543

Course Taught: 
  • ARSC 120 - Step 1: Inquiry Approaches to Teaching

Joshua H. Karr
Portrait of Joshua H. Karr

Clinical Assistant Professor,  WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education 
Allen Hall, Room 611

jkarr1@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-9710

Courses Taught:
  • ARSC 120 - Step 1: Inquiry Approaches to Teaching

Faculty

Keri Valentine, Ph.D.
Keri Valentine, Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor
College of Education and Human Services

kevalentine@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-4335

Course Taught:
  • UTCH 222 – Classroom Interactions in Math and Science

Matthew Campbell, Ph.D.
Matthew Campbell, Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor
College of Education and Human Services

mpcampbell@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-4714

Course Taught:
  • UTCH 221 – Knowing and Learning in Math and Science

Marjorie Darrah, Ph.D.
Marjorie Darrah, Professor

Professor
Department of Mathematics

mdarrah@math.wvu.edu
(304) 293-8938

Course Taught: 
  • MATH 318 – Perspectives in Math and Science

Renee LaRue, Ph.D.
 

Teaching Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics

reneelarue@math.wvu.edu

Course Taught: 
  • MATH 376 – Foundations, Function, and Modeling