Skip to main content

WVUteach Staff

Co-Directors

Jeffrey Carver, Ed.D.
Jeffrey Carver

Associate Professor of Science Education
609E Allen Hall

Jeffrey.Carver@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-3841
Course Taught:
  • UTCH 420 - Project-Based Instruction

Gay Stewart, Ph.D.
Gay Stewart

Director, WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education
Eberly Professor of STEM Education
White Hall, Room 303

gbstewart@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-5032
Course Taught:
  • BIOL/CHEM/PHYS 376 - Research Methods

Program Coordinator

Amanda Jelsema
Amanda Backus

WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

amanda.jelsema@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-5030


Master Teachers

Vanessa Licwov-Channell
Vanessa Licwov-Channell

Clinical Assistant Professor
WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

vlicwov@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-4044

  Courses Taught: 
  • ARSC 120 - Step 1: Inquiry Approaches to Teaching

Nancy Spillane, Ed.D.
Nancy Spillane

Clinical Associate Professor,
WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

Nancy.Spillane@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-3391
    Courses Taught: 
    • ARSC 120 - Step 1: Inquiry Approaches to Teaching
    • ARSC 220 - Step 2: Inquiry-Based Lesson Design

    Michael Tilley
    Michael Tilley

    Clinical Instructor, WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

    michael.tilley@mail.wvu.edu
    (304) 293-9459
    Course Taught:
    • ARSC 120 – Step 1: Inquiry Approaches to Teaching
    • UTCH 430 - Apprentice Teaching

    Elaine Schwing
     

    Clinical Instructor, WVU Center for Excellence in STEM Education

    elaine.schwing@mail.wvu.edu
    (304) 293-8543
    Course Taught: 
    • MATH 376 – Foundations, Function, and Modeling

    Faculty

    Keri Valentine, Ph.D.
    Keri Valentine

    Assistant Professor, College of Education and Human Services

    kevalentine@mail.wvu.edu
    (304) 293-4335
    Course Taught:
    • UTCH 222 – Classroom Interactions in Math and Science

    Matthew Campbell, Ph.D.
    Matthew Campbell

    Assistant Professor, Secondary Mathematics Education, College of Education and Human Services

    mpcampbell@mail.wvu.edu
    (304) 293-4714
    Course Taught:
    • UTCH 221 – Knowing and Learning in Math and Science

    Marjorie Darrah, Ph.D.
     Marjorie Darrah

     Professor, Department of Mathematics
    mdarrah@math.wvu.edu
    (304) 293-8938
    Course Taught: 
    • MATH 318 – Perspectives in Math and Science

    Renee LaRue, Ph.D.
     

    Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics

    reneelarue@math.wvu.edu
    Course Taught: 
    • MATH 376 – Foundations, Function, and Modeling